king herald logo

Independent Sacramento Kings Coverage. By Fans, For Fans. | Support Us On Patreon

Are the Kings done making moves, or is Jonathan Kuminga on the way? | The Kings Herald Show with Jerry Reynolds

We're back, and we're still talking about Jonathan Kuminga.
By and | 50 Comments | Aug 12, 2025

The Kings Herald Show returns with Jerry Reynolds, Will Griffith, and Tony Xypteras to check in on the Jonathan Kuminga sweepstakes, and evaluate Scott Perry’s roster with a little over a month to go before training camp. Thanks for listening!

If you enjoy The Kings Herald Show, the easiest way to support us is to subscribe, rate, and review the show on your preferred podcast platform.

Apple.
Spotify.
Google.
Stitcher.

In addition to our bi-weekly podcast with Jerry Reynolds, we also record a Patreon exclusive Q+A once a month where Patrons at any level can Ask Jerry Anything.

You can submit questions for Jerry on Patreon, or write your questions in the comments below this post! Or you can just yell questions to Tony or Will on Twitter. 

And finally, you can sign up for our Patreon here.

Patreon Membership
* indicates required


To prevent spam, our system flags comments that include too many hyperlinks. If you would like to share a comment with multiple links, make sure you email editorial@kingsherald.com for it to be approved.

Subscribe
Notify of
50 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Hippity_Hop_Barbershop
Original Member
Comments
Vote Up
Patreon Supporter
Original Member
Comments
Vote Up
Patreon Supporter
August 12, 2025 4:42 pm

DMC advocating for his jersey to be retired and Grant coming back to Sacramento were definitely not on my Kings offseason BINGO card.

Carl
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
August 12, 2025 7:42 pm

This guy wants his number retired? This guy? Yeah, we should be real sensitive to that request.

Last edited 7 months ago by Carl
SelecaoKOJ
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 12, 2025 8:35 pm
Reply to  Carl

The funny thing is Cuz could have been a HOF’er. If not for his immaturity. His own worst enemy.
But For 6 seasons in Sac he put up 25-10, 4 All Stars, 6 time All NBA, 2 time all defense.

Not even Sabonis has those accolades.
Whether you want to recognize him or not. Statsitically one of the best Kings players ever.

Adamsite
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Nostradumbass 14
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Nostradumbass 14
August 12, 2025 9:08 pm
Reply to  SelecaoKOJ

This is all true, but as Jerry said, he never had a playoff win and every team has a leading scorer.

It’s incredibly unfortunate the Kings aren’t a better run franchise that could have put the players and personnel around DMC to take him and the team to the next level.

So goes another chapter of the Kangz.

Kfan
Original Member
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Comments
Vote Up
August 13, 2025 8:22 am
Reply to  Adamsite

And when you berate your teammates for “taking” your rebounds or not passing you the ball, it minimizes the numbers.

I mean a “dominant” center with a career .460 FG% is pretty laughable.

RPO
Original Member
Comments
Vote Up
Patreon Supporter
Original Member
Comments
Vote Up
Patreon Supporter
RPO
August 12, 2025 10:07 pm
Reply to  SelecaoKOJ

Numbers aside, he’s still a complete ass in my book. And those numbers didn’t do anything to make the franchise relevant so they’re irrelevant to me.

Marty
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
August 13, 2025 11:56 am
Reply to  SelecaoKOJ

The funny thing is Cuz could have been a HOF’er. 

All it would have taken is a total personality change and a complete transformation into a different person.

He was so close.

RikSmits
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
August 14, 2025 9:12 am
Reply to  SelecaoKOJ

If DMC was really one of the best Kings players ever (debatable), it would only underline what a poverty franchise this is.

I can’t wait until the DMC era has completely sunk away into the oblivion part of my mind.

ArcoThunder
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 3:48 pm
Reply to  SelecaoKOJ

I said all of this before I read your comment. Mine is now redundant.

Nathanssj
Comments
Comments
August 16, 2025 3:39 pm
Reply to  SelecaoKOJ

Statistically yes he should be, but I was at a lot of those games and I promise you it wasn’t fun rooting for him. At least Richmond was likeable, not polarizing, and brought many good memories in the 90s. I can’t think of many positive memories with cousins.

RobHessing
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Author
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Author
August 13, 2025 8:12 am
Reply to  Carl

I’d be for it if only to see him pick up two technicals during the ceremony and not even making it to the jersey raising.

ArcoThunder
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 3:46 pm
Reply to  Carl

He was one of the best kings players talent wise ever. That part is true. Should that make you get your number retired? Unfortunately he never had a good supporting cast. Not his fault but never winning anything ever doesn’t get your number retired. Richmond never had a good supporting cast but he dragged a couple teams into the playoffs. Hence the retired number. And other attitude issues for DMC of course. He was his own worst enemy his entire sacramento king career. It was so damn frustrating.

Nathanssj
Comments
Comments
August 16, 2025 3:41 pm
Reply to  ArcoThunder

1 playoff team…. To an 8th seed. Not Richmond’s fault, but an incredible feet to bring any of those rosters to the playoffs.

Nathanssj
Comments
Comments
August 16, 2025 3:37 pm
Reply to  Carl

If we decline, does he flip us off and cause another scene?

Hobby916
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 13, 2025 5:08 am

Run it back with less talent and size.

What is disappointing for me is that DDR is still on the roster. I was sure he would have been moved by now. There has been minimal roster turnover on a te that won 40 games last season.

I hear some local radio hosts think the Kings will be better than last season, and I just chuckle. The argument is that the drama last season with Brown, Fox, the front office and assistants leaving during the season contributed to that total. I don’t believe all that.

AirmaxPG
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 13, 2025 7:17 am
Reply to  Hobby916

Yep, so best case scenario (in Perry’s eyes) seems to be adding Kuminga and Westbrook to this roster, minus Monk.

But to me, the Kuminga thing only works for us if the player going out is DDR. Best trade I’ve seen proposed recently (this was on Yahoo sports last week), was DDR, Carter, and a 2026 1st for Kuminga and Moody.

Sucks to lose the 1st, but if the goal is to win this year (meaning out of the lottery), it would likely be a pick in the teens. You’d free up minutes for Murray at the 3, and instead of getting Westbrook, I’d go after a cheap backup big who can provide rim protection (I like Bamba).

PG: Schroeder/Ellis
SG: Lavine/Monk
SF: Murray/Moody/Clifford
PF: Kuminga/Saric/Raynaud
C: Sabonis/Bamba/Jones

You’d still have the logjam at SG, but you can try to shop Lavine at least until he comes off the books in 2 years. Moody just turned 23, so he’d be the long-term guy there hopefully.

Hobby916
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 13, 2025 7:40 am
Reply to  AirmaxPG

In that trade, it appears the Kings would be adding length in Moody and Kuminga. Moody is also a solid defender and 3pt shooter.

The logjam at SG might be an issue, but it’s really Dennis and Monk at PG, with Lavine and Ellis at the SG. Nique is a combo guy as well, so he would be the 5th guard and get SF minutes.

Adding Kuminga and Moody at the SF/PF would give a nice rotation.

The team would be younger and have the ability to grow together as they age. Kings need to stop adding older guys that don’t have their youthful athleticism any longer.

I just don’t see the Warriors trading for DDR and Carter. Get older, another guy that needs the ball to be effective (DDR), and DDR isn’t a defender. But if I was the Kings, I would make that deal, assuming there are protections on that pick.

AirmaxPG
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 13, 2025 9:21 am
Reply to  Hobby916

I don’t think they make deal with protections. Maybe top 3 protected, but you’re not going to get two promising young players from the Warriors without giving up something substantial.

rockbottom
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 13, 2025 8:47 am
Reply to  AirmaxPG

Great trade except Dubs do not want DDR or Carter .

AirmaxPG
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 13, 2025 9:19 am
Reply to  rockbottom

The prize for them is really the unprotected Kings pick.

Jack
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 13, 2025 10:15 am
Reply to  AirmaxPG

IMO Monk Carter and an unprotected first for Kuminga and Moody. DDR still can be traded to the Heat for Rosier and maybe a first. If not 2 seconds.
A lot of you are probably going to hate this but here goes. Believe it or not but for quite a while I have wanted to trade Sabonis to the Pistons for Harris, Hollkand and Duren and 2 firsts. My rationale is Sabonis isn’t going to take the Kings no farther than maybe a play-in. The Kings IMO should be looking for youth. Duren IMO is a great up and coming center. Holland proved in the summer league he is a good player off the bench. Harris, not young, but a constant scorer and defender and team mentor only has one more year on his contract then if they want to they can trade him let him go in free agency and take the money.
I like the above trade with the Warriors but IMO is possible try and get Josh Giddey from the Bulls. Offer them the same trade as above for the Warriors. Better player than Kuminga but would lose Moody. Giddey fits a lot better in the King’s sceme then Kuminga. Just as young but comparisons to Kuminga much much better. Already established and same age. Would start at small forward and backup Schroder. Forget Westbrook. Sorry Vivek. After Schroder or sooner would be the King’s point guard of the future.

Marty
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
August 13, 2025 11:46 am
Reply to  Jack

Your commitment to discussing the trades in your head is impressive.

AirmaxPG
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 6:32 am
Reply to  Jack

I like the trade banter.

I just don’t know if Miami is even into DDR, and to me offloading him is part of the beauty of the Warriors trade. Of course GS might not be into him either, but they’ll definitely want the 1st, and so to me that is maximizing that asset.

Not only by getting Demar to a better fit, but acquiring two young promising players in the process.

Monk would be easier to move in another trade… perhaps in a package for Giddey?

Jack
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 7:11 am
Reply to  AirmaxPG

GS doesn’t want DDR. Too old. First is Monk and if you really want Kuminga then you might add Carter along with the protected first. If not then Monk Carter and a unprotected first for Kuminga and Moody. As above these would be my second choice as I really like Josh Giddey as my first choice. IMO he really fits the Kong’s scheme.

AirmaxPG
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 7:28 am
Reply to  Jack

Are they on record saying that? I haven’t heard.

DDR for them is basically a one- year rental, and (on paper) kind of fits with Curry, Butler, and Draymond.

And to get an unprotected Kings pick next year in a strong draft… for at least one player they might not be able to keep long term in a Kuminga.

It kind of makes sense for them, but if they’ve come out and said no to Demar… I’d probably be willing to go Monk, Carter and the 1st for Kuminga and Moody… that’d be my final offer 😉

Jack
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 8:53 am
Reply to  AirmaxPG

Mine too.

ArcoThunder
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 3:56 pm
Reply to  Jack

Firmly agree with you here. On all points. All of that is much better than Kuminga and Westbrook

ArcoThunder
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 3:51 pm
Reply to  AirmaxPG

I like your thinking more than what I’m seeing happen in reality. That’s for sure.

cloudyeyes
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 15, 2025 8:39 am
Reply to  AirmaxPG

Been barking up that tree for a while on Bamba. He’s a nice complement to Sabonis. It’s a low key move that could address several issues – finding a big man that can hit a three pointer now and then/provide rim protection.

9sac8
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 18, 2025 8:20 pm
Reply to  AirmaxPG

Monk for Rui straight up.

Trade DDR and Schroeder to Boston for D. White THE MIN Schroeder becomes trade eligible. Or trade DDR for a less valued wing that plays defense and we possibly get a first in return. I have no idea what to do with Devin Carter.

White
Lavine
Keegan
Rui
Domas

That’s pretty solid.

We have other options that fit. What are we doing here.

White
Lavine
Keegan
Beef Stew
Duren

Is lights out as well.

9sac8
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 18, 2025 8:09 pm
Reply to  Hobby916

I’m sure your other points are valid, but DDR still being on this roster is crazy disappointing.

Bill2455
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 13, 2025 5:28 pm

Kuminga is not that good. Only fools would make a reach for him.

Adamsite
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Nostradumbass 14
Patreon Supporter
Comments
Vote Up
Original Member
Nostradumbass 14
August 13, 2025 9:26 pm
Reply to  Bill2455

What exactly is reaching? Monk? Carter? Protected first?

if that is reaching, then what is the Schröder signing, or the interest in Westbrook?

I’d much prefer a reach on a 22 year old than handing another contract to a re-tread. This team needs to get younger while swinging for a diamond, because we all know Vivek won’t allow a proper rebuild.

SmallBallReject
Comments
Comments
August 14, 2025 3:45 am
Reply to  Adamsite

“Monk? Carter? Protected first?” and reported $23M/year for 3 years … may be offset by the salaries for Monk and Carter. A first is reaching in my view if the pick is not at least lottery protected … may also depend on what year. I wish we had gone after Boucher before Boston got him … since I am content to see what we have, how Clifford, Reynaud, and I Jones perform … and open to a rebuild starting at the 2026 trade deadline. If we are going to reach I would much rather Giddey at $100/4 and whatever “assets” a S&T requires.

AirmaxPG
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 6:35 am

I agree an unprotected first is reaching for Kuminga. But if it comes along with Moody and the added bonus of removing redundancy on the roster in DDR… to me that is a first well spent.

Jack
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 7:14 am

I agree on Giddey.

Jack
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 7:13 am
Reply to  Adamsite

IMO Giddey might not be a diamond buy surely a ruby.

AirmaxPG
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 7:34 am
Reply to  Jack

I like Giddey a lot, but if given the choice I’d rather have both of Kuminga and Moody for the same trade package.

If they could somehow pull off dealing Monk, Demar, Carter, a 1st, and anyone else not named Keegan, Keon or Domantas into the trio of Giddey, Kuminga and Moody…

I’d be calling Scott Perry in the running for executive of the year.

Giddey/Lavine/Murray/Kuminga/Domas… with Keon/Moody/Schroeder off the bench… yes please.

Jack
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 12:09 pm
Reply to  AirmaxPG

IMO its either Kuminga or Kuminga and Moody on one side and Josh Giddey on the other. I don’t think the Kings can have the cake and eat it too. I would rather have Giddey. You don’t have to play him at PG just yet. IMO I would start him out at SF and then Murray at PF. He would be a great facilitator at that position. When Schroder sits he could come in as backup point guard. Bring in Holland to take his place at SF or even Clifford. No Westbrook. Sorry Vivek. Starters would be Schroder, either Ellis or LaVine, Giddey, Murray and Duren. You can see who would be the strong bench. Much younger but still a potential team.

Jack
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 14, 2025 12:12 pm
Reply to  Jack

Not potential but potent team.My fault on spelling.

Murf
Comments
Comments
August 15, 2025 8:10 am

I’m sorry but any trade for the Kings that involves an unprotected first round pick better include proven good NBA talent, to me that’s not anything the Warriors are offering. By all means the Kings should look at players like Kuminga but only at a price that works for the Kings

Jack
Comments
Vote Up
Comments
Vote Up
August 16, 2025 6:42 am
Reply to  Murf

Josh Giddey is a proven talent. Would you use an unprotected first two aquire him?

SmallBallReject
Comments
Comments
August 16, 2025 4:09 am

Should we try to (sign&) trade for Rui Hachimura (if LAL not extending him)? DDR and/or Monk and/or … ? Makes Keegan the SF, whcih I think is better.

Badge Legend

Patreon Supporter Patreon Supporter   Registered On Day 1 Registered On Day 1   Published Post Published Post  Published Post Nostradumbass
Comment Up Votes 200 Up Votes   Comment Up Votes 500 Up Votes    1,000 Up Votes    3,000+ Up Votes

Comments 50 Comments   Comments 100 Comments    250 Comments    500 Comments    1000+ Comments